Washington County Free Library
My Account Mobile Page Facebook Pinterest Tumblr
databases

Academic & Career Resources
Career Information Center
The Career Information Center provides information every job seeker should have. Updated with a full volume devoted to computer careers, the first 12 volumes each focus on a different career area, and contain over 700 job profiles. Each profile includes a job summary chart, a job description, and up-to-date salary information. The 13th volume contains the index, as well as essays on different aspects of employment.

College Blue Book
Guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.

College Navigator
The College Navigator, from the U.S. Department of Education, provides students and their families with information about colleges and federal financial aid. Provides current data on expenses, financial aid, enrollment, admission, graduation rates, majors and the college selection process.

Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans , 29th ed., 2012
An annually updated resource that provides more than 4,200 sources of education-related financial aid and awards at all levels of study.

Testing & Education Reference Center
Practice tests for college entrance, employment, and citizenship, plus college and career search help


Arts and Humanities
Berg Fashion Library
The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.

Dance in Video
Dance in Video contains streaming videos of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Freegal Music
Freegal Music is a downloadable music service from your library. All you need is your library card number. With access to the Sony Music Entertainment catalog, it offers hundreds of thousands of songs, over 100 genres of music, and more than 50 record labels, all without having to download special software or have any digital rights management (DRM) issues to deal with. Limit 3 downloads per week per Patron.

Grove [Oxford] Art Online
Grove Art Online offers the most extensive and easily searchable online art resource available today, a virtual art reference library of unparalleled scope and depth.  Users can access thousands of subject entries, biographies, bibliographic citations, and images Grove Art Online, as well as Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and Oxford’s Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

Grove [Oxford] Music Online

Grove Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a glorious compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as all subsequent updates and emendations.


Literature Criticism Online - Contemporary Literary Criticism
Literature Criticism Online takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available.  Contains centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - in an easy-to-use online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. 

Music Online
Music Online combines streaming audio, video, reference, and musical scores into one comprehensive resource.  This database includes: African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video.

North American Theater Online
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre.  Database includes North American Theater Online as well as the following full-text play collections: Black Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, Asian American Drama, North American Women's Drama, Latino Drama, North American Indian Drama 

Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online streaming audio recordings that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

Theater in Video
Theatre in Video contains online in streaming video of more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries,  representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.


Auto Repair
Auto Repair Reference Center
Information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954.


Biography
African American Studies Center

The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

For remote access to the site use username/password: washcofree / washcofree.


Biography Reference Bank
Biography Reference Bank offering the in-depth, original profiles of Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index, and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators, this database contains biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work.

Biography Reference Center
Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of more than 460,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.


Business & Investing
Business Plan Handbook collection
A collection of actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses in North America. Plans are from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries, with company names and addresses changed. Also includes a business plan template, fictional business plans, a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants; a glossary; and an updated bibliography.

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier is the industry's most popular business research database, featuring the full text for more than 2,200 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar® Investment Research Center offers real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. Investment Research Center serves all levels of investors with a range of dynamic tools and thoughtful perspectives to help them make more informed investment decisions.

Reference USA Business Database
Connect with Businesses and Customers!  Reference USA includes information about 14 million U.S. Businesses and 89 million residential listings as well as Canadian business and residential listings. 

Regional Business News
Regional Business News provides full text for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications (including titles from Crain Communications).

The Foundation Center Directory(available at Downtown location only)
A collection of data for over 68,000 foundations, coporate giving programs, and grant making public charities.

Thomson Gale's Legal Forms
Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General Forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

ValueLine Research
Investment information and analysis to meet the changing needs of investors


Community Information
Historic Newspaper Index
An Index to Hagerstown Newspapers: This site contains the Hagerstown newspaper indexes for 1845 – 1854 and 1860 – 1865. They are part of The Historic Newspaper Indexing Project which produces subject and personal name indexes for local and regional news, legal notices, obituaries, marriages, and advertisements published in Hagerstown, Maryland, newspapers from 1790 - 1854 and 1860 - 1865. The regions covered in the indexes are Frederick, Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties in Maryland; Cumberland, Adams, Fulton and Franklin Counties in Pennsylvania; and Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan Counties in West Virginia.

MDCH - Maryland Digital Cultural Heritage Project
This website provides centralized, one-stop access to Maryland-related historical documents, images, audio, and video for Maryland's public libraries and cultural heritage institutions.

Washington County Directory of Community Services
This directory, maintained by the library’s Adult Reference Staff, contains information on a variety of non-profit and community organizations based in Washington County and the region. Resources include health and human services, support groups, governmental agencies, recreational opportunities, clubs and organizations.

WHILBR - Western Maryland's Historical Library
Allegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties in Western Maryland have a rich and diverse history. View images from the collections of the libraries, historical societies, and individuals in the three counties. There are photographs, newspaper articles, and indexes, rare books and more.


Consumer Help
Consumer Reports
The link takes you directly to the Consumer Reports publication information within EBSCO MasterFILE. 
 
You can browse the publication by clicking on the dates under All Issues on the right hand side. 
 
To search for specific articles:
  1. click on "Search Within this Publication" to the right of the publication details
  2. Leave JN "consumer reports" in the search bar, type the word "and", then type your search term (i.e. cell phone).  Your search box should look like this:  JN "consumer reports" and cell phones
  3. Hit search

Maryland Insurance Administration
The Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) is an independent State agency that regulates Maryland's insurance industry and protects consumers by ensuring that insurance companies and health plans act in accordance with insurance laws.


Education
EBSCOhost
Reference databases designed for use in public libraries are made available via the user-friendly search system.

Help Now! Powered by Brainfuse

Brainfuse’s “HelpNow” is a comprehensive suite of tutoring services designed for a range of academic needs; whether it’s tackling a tough homework problem, learning an academic skill, or writing a term paper. “HelpNow” is available for students in grades K through Adult Learners in the following subjects: Math, Science, Social Studies, English/Language Arts that includes writing assistance and Reading Comprehension/Grammar/Vocabulary Skills Building, English Literature and Foreign Languages.

* * Tutorial * *


Kid Search
Kids Search is designed especially for youth in grades K-8 - powered by EBSCOhost 

Primary Search
Containing full-text for more than 80 of the most popular elementary school magazines, Primary Search is designed specifically for elementary school libraries.

Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.

Searchasaurus
Reference materials within Searchasaurus include magazines, encyclopedias, newspapers, books and more. 

Student Research Center
Student-friendly search of 140 full-text magazines and reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries. Geared to middle school students.

Testing & Education Reference Center
Practice tests for college entrance, employment, and citizenship, plus college and career search help


Encyclopedia & General Reference
Grolier Online
Includes seven encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia America, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, and The New Book of Popular Science.

Oxford English Dictionary
Your username / password for *remote access* is  washcofree / washcofree

600,000 words … 3 million quotations … over 1000 years of English.  The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

World Book Encyclopedia
Features the content of The World Book Encyclopedia, plus 16 additional databases, which include an online atlas, Spanish-language encyclopedia, teacher resources, World Book Kids, images and sounds, current events, and an online version of the World Book Dictionary.


Genealogy
Ancestry.com - Library Edition(available inside library only)
Genealogical and local history information. Includes the digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 to 1940, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, Passenger and Immigration Lists Index, and slave narratives.

Dictionary of American Family Names
Contains more than 70,000 of the most commonly occurring surnames in the United States, giving their comparative frequencies, linguistic and historical explanations, selected associated forenames, and occasional genealogical notes.

HeritageQuest Online
Resources in this genealogy database include the US Federal Census 1790-1930; the Periodical Source Index, covering genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800; and the Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files.

Historic Newspaper Index
An Index to Hagerstown Newspapers: This site contains the Hagerstown newspaper indexes for 1845 – 1854 and 1860 – 1865. They are part of The Historic Newspaper Indexing Project which produces subject and personal name indexes for local and regional news, legal notices, obituaries, marriages, and advertisements published in Hagerstown, Maryland, newspapers from 1790 - 1854 and 1860 - 1865. The regions covered in the indexes are Frederick, Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties in Maryland; Cumberland, Adams, Fulton and Franklin Counties in Pennsylvania; and Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan Counties in West Virginia.

Sanborn Maps for MD
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps for more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in libraries, and are valuable historical tools. In electronic form, Sanborn maps allow users to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.

WHILBR - Western Maryland's Historical Library
Allegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties in Western Maryland have a rich and diverse history. View images from the collections of the libraries, historical societies, and individuals in the three counties. There are photographs, newspaper articles, and indexes, rare books and more.


Geography and Maps
Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia
Descriptions of the physical geography, climate, and vegetation of every nation.

Sanborn Maps for MD
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps for more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in libraries, and are valuable historical tools. In electronic form, Sanborn maps allow users to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.


Health
Free Health Research Online
There are many free websites online that provide quality health information right at your fingertips. This resource guide lists websites to help you research health info on general health, nutrition, finding a doctor, health insurance, local health-related organizations, professional articles and clinical trials, complementary and alternative medicine, consumer protection, diseases and conditions, and health info for seniors.

Health and Wellness Resource Center including Alternative Health
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc.

Magill’s Medical Guide
The Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations including journal articles, extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.

Reference USA Healthcare Database
A searchable directory of over 650,000 physicians and 180,000 dentists in the United States

Salem Health
Salem Health covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. Titles include:
  • Magill's Medical Guide
  • Salem Health: Infectious Diseases & Conditions
  • Salem Health: Cancer


History
African American Studies Center

The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

For remote access to the site use username/password: washcofree / washcofree.


Historic Newspaper Index
An Index to Hagerstown Newspapers: This site contains the Hagerstown newspaper indexes for 1845 – 1854 and 1860 – 1865. They are part of The Historic Newspaper Indexing Project which produces subject and personal name indexes for local and regional news, legal notices, obituaries, marriages, and advertisements published in Hagerstown, Maryland, newspapers from 1790 - 1854 and 1860 - 1865. The regions covered in the indexes are Frederick, Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties in Maryland; Cumberland, Adams, Fulton and Franklin Counties in Pennsylvania; and Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan Counties in West Virginia.

History Reference Center
A comprehensive full text history reference database containing information from books, encyclopedias, and periodicals as well as historical documents, maps, photos and video. Focus is on US History and World History from prehistoric times to the recent past.

MDCH - Maryland Digital Cultural Heritage Project
This website provides centralized, one-stop access to Maryland-related historical documents, images, audio, and video for Maryland's public libraries and cultural heritage institutions.

Milestone Documents in American History
Milestone Documents in American History combines 133 full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary.  Additional titles include:
  • Milestone Documents in African American History
  • Milestone Documents in American History
  • Milestone Documents of American Leaders
  • Milestone Documents in World History
  • Milestone Documents of World Religions

Rural Heritage Museum
The Rurual Heritage Museum offers information about our region's beginnings and history, and how our rural and agricultural heritage continue to play a role in Washington County today. 

Sanborn Maps for MD
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps for more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in libraries, and are valuable historical tools. In electronic form, Sanborn maps allow users to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.

WHILBR - Western Maryland's Historical Library
Allegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties in Western Maryland have a rich and diverse history. View images from the collections of the libraries, historical societies, and individuals in the three counties. There are photographs, newspaper articles, and indexes, rare books and more.


Language Learning
Help Now! Powered by Brainfuse
Brainfuse’s “HelpNow” is a comprehensive suite of tutoring services designed for a range of academic needs; whether it’s tackling a tough homework problem, learning an academic skill, or writing a term paper. “HelpNow” is available for students in grades K through Adult Learners in the following subjects: Math, Science, Social Studies, English/Language Arts that includes writing assistance and Reading Comprehension/Grammar/Vocabulary Skills Building, English Literature and Foreign Languages.

* * Tutorial * *


Mango Languages

Mango Languages is an online language-learning system offering 21 foreign languages for English speakers and 14 ESL programs for non-English speakers to learn English.  You will learn real world conversational skills from native speakers.




Law
Thomson Gale's Legal Forms
Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General Forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.


Literature
BookFlix
Scholastic BookFlix is a new online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning. The engaging way to link fact and fiction, BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration.

Booklist Online
Booklist Online contains over 120,000 reviews and thousands of features dating back to 1992.

Books In Print
Whether you're looking for information on books, audio books, or videos, you've come to the right place. Books In Print provides a user-friendly interface designed specifically for use by library patrons.

Fiction Connection
Discover titles similar to books you already enjoy.

Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.

Literature Criticism Online - Contemporary Literary Criticism
Literature Criticism Online takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available.  Contains centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - in an easy-to-use online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.

Non-Fiction Connection
Discover titles similar to what you already enjoy

Novelist K-8
Reading suggestions for children in grades K-8.

Novelist Reader's Advisory
In addition to locating books to read, users can learn more about books and authors through Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks.

Salem Literature
Salem Literature is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets. Titles currently available:

  • Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: Heroes & Heroines
  • Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: Love, Sexuality, and Desire
  • Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: World Mythology

Something About the Author
Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.


Magazines & Newspapers
Historic Newspaper Index
An Index to Hagerstown Newspapers: This site contains the Hagerstown newspaper indexes for 1845 – 1854 and 1860 – 1865. They are part of The Historic Newspaper Indexing Project which produces subject and personal name indexes for local and regional news, legal notices, obituaries, marriages, and advertisements published in Hagerstown, Maryland, newspapers from 1790 - 1854 and 1860 - 1865. The regions covered in the indexes are Frederick, Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties in Maryland; Cumberland, Adams, Fulton and Franklin Counties in Pennsylvania; and Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan Counties in West Virginia.

MasterFILE Premier - Periodicals
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than 1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural magazines.

NewsBank - (Archives of The Herald-Mail newspaper)
NewsBank, Inc. has been one of the world’s premier information providers for more than 40 years. NewsBank’s comprehensive, Web-based research products satisfy the diverse needs of public libraries, colleges and universities, schools, military and government libraries, professionals and researchers.

This subscription provides access to the Herald-Mail Newspaper as far back as December 1996. 

Zinio
Zinio is the world’s largest newsstand and bookstore. With its many digital products and services, Zinio creates better ways for people to discover published content, get more of it and do more with it. Now, readers can purchase content once to be read on any screen. Zinio provides the ability to shop for, search inside, read, share and save digital content in 23 local newsstands in any country in the world.


Reference E-Books
Virtual Reference Library (eBooks)
Reference eBooks are the same books that rest on our shelves, but in an electronic format. You can access them here through our database page or through our catalog by clicking chain link when you see it in the catalog record.


Religion
Oxford Biblical Studies
Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. The integration of authoritative scholarly texts and reference works with tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible make Oxford Biblical Studies Online a valuable resource not only for college students, scholars, and clergy, but also anyone in need of an authoritative, ecumenical, and up-to-date resource.

For remote access to the site use username/password: washcofree / washcofree.


Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture.

For remote access to the site use username/password: washcofree / washcofree.



Science
Salem Science
Salem Science is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets.Titles currently available on Salem Science:
  • Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society
  • Earth Science: Earth Materials and Resources
  • Earth Science: Earth’s Weather, Water, and Atmosphere
  • Earth Science: Earth's Surface and History
  • Earth Science: Physics and Chemistry of the Earth
  • Environmental Issues
  • Encyclopedia of Global Warming

Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.

Ask Us Now Marina - Interlibrary Loan HelpNow! Powered by Brainfuse - Live Homework Help Overdrive - Download Audiobooks and eBooks OneClick digital Freegal Music - Download music now! Western Maryland Regional Library Choose Civility logo