Academic & Career Resources
Career Information Center

The Career Information Center provides information every job seeker should have. Updated with a full volume devoted to computer careers, the first 12 volumes each focus on a different career area, and contain over 700 job profiles. Each profile includes a job summary chart, a job description, and up-to-date salary information. The 13th volume contains the index, as well as essays on different aspects of employment.

College Blue Book

Guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.

College Navigator

The College Navigator, from the U.S. Department of Education, provides students and their families with information about colleges and federal financial aid.  Provides current data on expenses, financial aid, enrollment, admission, graduation rates, majors and the college selection process.

Gale Testing & Education Reference Center

Practice tests for college entrance, employment, and citizenship, plus college and career search help

Learning Express Library with Job and Career Resource

Practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help you succeed on academic or licensing tests, such as SAT, ASVAB, GED, Civil Service and much more! You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.

Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans , 22nd ed., 2006

Add Text Here


Antiques & Collectibles
p4a Antiques Reference

Evaluate almost every kind of antique in today's collections


Auto Repair
EBSCO's Auto Repair Reference Center

Information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954.


Biography
Gale's Biography Resource Center

Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender.


Business & Investing
Business Plan Handbook vol. 1-13

A collection of 24 actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses in North America. Plans are from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries, with company names and addresses changed. Also includes a business plan template, two fictional business plans, a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants; a glossary; and an updated bibliography.

EBSCO Business Source Elite

Business Source Elite provides full text from over 1,090 journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more.

EBSCO Regional Business News

Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States

Mergent Online

A comprehensive suite of authoritative financial information with the accuracy, timeliness and transparency required in today’s marketplace.

Reference USA Business Database

Information about 14 million U.S. Businesses

The Foundation Center Directory

A collection of data for over 68,000 foundations, coporate giving programs, and grant making public charities.

Thomson Gale's Legal Forms

Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General Forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

ValueLine Research

Investment information and analysis to meet the changing needs of investors


Community Information
Historic Newspaper Index

This newspaper index for the Civil War years, 1860 – 1865 is part of The Historic Newspaper Indexing Project which is a subject and personal name index to local and regional news, legal notices, obituaries, marriages, and advertisements published in Hagerstown, Maryland newspapers from 1790 - 1844 and 1860 - 1865. The regions covered in the index are Frederick, Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties in Maryland; Cumberland, Adams, Fulton and Franklin Counties in Pennsylvania; and Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan Counties in West Virginia.

Maryland Share

Information about community organizations, agencies, clubs, programs, and events in the counties, cities and towns in Maryland

MDCH - Maryland Digital Cultural Heritage Project

This website provides centralized, one-stop access to Maryland-related historical documents, images, audio, and video for Maryland's public libraries and cultural heritage institutions.

WHILBR - Western Maryland's Historical Library

Allegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties in Western Maryland have a rich and diverse history. View images from the collections of the libraries, historical societies, and individuals in the three counties. There are photographs, newspaper articles, and indexes, rare books and more.


Current Events
Facts on File

World News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print.


Education
EBSCO ERIC

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources

EBSCO Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus provides full text from over 140 general reference, health and science magazines

EBSCO Primary Search

Primary Search provides full text from 50 children’s magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children’s reading rooms.

EBSCO's Kids Search

Kids Search makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.

EBSCO's Student Resource Center

Student-friendly search of 140 full-text magazines and reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries. Geared to middle school students.

Gale Testing & Education Reference Center

Practice tests for college entrance, employment, and citizenship, plus college and career search help

Learning Express Library with Job and Career Resource

Practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help you succeed on academic or licensing tests, such as SAT, ASVAB, GED, Civil Service and much more! You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.

Learning Language Library

Sources to get started learning Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, German, Chinese, Japanese and Russian.

Searchasaurus

Reference materials within Searchasaurus include magazines, encyclopedias, newspapers, books and more.


Encyclopedia & General Reference
Credo Reference

Contains over 3 million full text general reference entries from all major subjects.

EBSCO Encyclopedia of Animals

EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals has in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals, describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

Facts.com - Issues & Controversies

Issues & Controversies is a reference database that combines authoritative factual analysis, covering clear explanations of opposing points of view and numerous special features, so students and other users can quickly grasp the essentials of even the most complex topics.

Facts.com - World Almanac Encyclopedia

The World Almanac Encyclopedia has been created specifically for schools and libraries by the editors of The World Almanac® and Book of Facts, Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia, and Facts On File News Services.

Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records.

Grolier Online

Includes seven encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia America, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, and The New Book of Popular Science.

World Book

Features the content of The World Book Encyclopedia, plus 16 additional databases, which include an online atlas, Spanish-language encyclopedia, teacher resources, World Book Kids, images and sounds, current events, and an online version of the World Book Dictionary.


Genealogy
Ancestry.com - Library Edition

Genealogical and local history information. Includes the digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 to 1930, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, Passenger and Immigration Lists Index, and slave narratives.

Dictionary of American Family Names

Contains more than 70,000 of the most commonly occurring surnames in the United States, giving their comparative frequencies, linguistic and historical explanations, selected associated forenames, and occasional genealogical notes.

HeritageQuest Online

Resources in this genealogy database include the US Federal Census 1790-1930; the Periodical Source Index, covering genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800; and the Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files.

Historic Newspaper Index

This newspaper index for the Civil War years, 1860 – 1865 is part of The Historic Newspaper Indexing Project which is a subject and personal name index to local and regional news, legal notices, obituaries, marriages, and advertisements published in Hagerstown, Maryland newspapers from 1790 - 1844 and 1860 - 1865. The regions covered in the index are Frederick, Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties in Maryland; Cumberland, Adams, Fulton and Franklin Counties in Pennsylvania; and Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan Counties in West Virginia.

Sanborn Maps for MD, PA and WV

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps for more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in libraries, and are valuable historical tools. In electronic form, Sanborn maps allow users to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.

WHILBR - Western Maryland's Historical Library

Allegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties in Western Maryland have a rich and diverse history. View images from the collections of the libraries, historical societies, and individuals in the three counties. There are photographs, newspaper articles, and indexes, rare books and more.


Geography and Maps
Facts.com - World Almanac Encyclopedia

The World Almanac Encyclopedia has been created specifically for schools and libraries by the editors of The World Almanac® and Book of Facts, Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia, and Facts On File News Services.

Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia

Descriptions of the physical geography, climate, and vegetation of every nation.

Sanborn Maps for MD, PA, and WV

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps for more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in libraries, and are valuable historical tools. In electronic form, Sanborn maps allow users to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.

The Statesman's Yearbook

Full text of the current edition of The Statesman's Yearbook regularly updated to reflect world events.


Health
EBSCO Health Source - Consumer Edition

Health Source: Consumer Edition offers you an alternative resource to find authoritative information on health-related questions.

EBSCO Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition

Health Source: Nursing Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.

Gale's Health and Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health

Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc.

Magill’s Medical Guide

The Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations including journal articles, extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.

Reference USA Healthcare Database

A searchable directory of over 650,000 physicians and 180,000 dentists in the United States


History
EBSCO History Reference Center

A comprehensive full text history reference database containing information from books, encyclopedias, and periodicals as well as historical documents, maps, photos and video. Focus is on US History and World History from prehistoric times to the recent past.

Historic Newspaper Index

This newspaper index for the Civil War years, 1860 – 1865 is part of The Historic Newspaper Indexing Project which is a subject and personal name index to local and regional news, legal notices, obituaries, marriages, and advertisements published in Hagerstown, Maryland newspapers from 1790 - 1844 and 1860 - 1865. The regions covered in the index are Frederick, Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties in Maryland; Cumberland, Adams, Fulton and Franklin Counties in Pennsylvania; and Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan Counties in West Virginia.

In the First Person

In the First Person is a free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.

MDCH - Maryland Digital Cultural Heritage Project

This website provides centralized, one-stop access to Maryland-related historical documents, images, audio, and video for Maryland's public libraries and cultural heritage institutions.

Milestone Documents in American History

Milestone Documents in American History combines 133 full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary

Sanborn Maps for MD, PA and WV

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps for more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in libraries, and are valuable historical tools. In electronic form, Sanborn maps allow users to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.

WHILBR - Western Maryland's Historical Library

Allegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties in Western Maryland have a rich and diverse history. View images from the collections of the libraries, historical societies, and individuals in the three counties. There are photographs, newspaper articles, and indexes, rare books and more.


Home Improvement
Home Improvement Reference Center

Home Improvement Reference Center is designed to provide full text articles that show instructions, tips and suggestions for a variety of home improvement projects. Thousands of repairs are available in the areas of outdoor, electrical, remodeling, plumbing, wood, decorating, and maintenance projects. Ideal for the do-it-yourselfer!


Law
Thomson Gale's Legal Forms

Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General Forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.


Literature
Booklist Online

Booklist Online contains over 120,000 reviews and thousands of features dating back to 1992.

Books In Print

Whether you're looking for information on books, audio books, or videos, you've come to the right place. Books In Print provides a user-friendly interface designed specifically for use by library patrons.

EBSCO's Book Index with Reviews

Book Index with Reviews (BIR) helps you find information on the books you want and need to read.

Fiction Connection

Discover titles similar to books you already enjoy.

Gale's Literature Resource Center

A full text database that provides critical analysis, biographies, and bibliographies of 90,000 novelists, poets and essayists from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism and other literary sources. Searchable by author, title, time period and literary themes.

Non-Fiction Connection

Discover titles similar to what you already enjoy

Novelist K-8

Reading suggestions for children in grades K-8.

Novelist Reader's Advisory

In addition to locating books to read, users can learn more about books and authors through Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks.

PoemFinder, StoryFinder & EssayFinder (LitFinder)

Poem Finder: an anthology of world poetry from early English to modern poets. Story Finder: full-text contemporary and classic short stories, explanations and more. Essay Finder: full-text essays and discursive writing focusing on the humanities and social sciences.

Scholastic BookFlix

Scholastic BookFlix is a new online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning. The engaging way to link fact and fiction, BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration.


Magazines & Newspapers
Baltimore Sun Archive (1990 - present)

The Baltimore Sun Archive contains the full text of staff written news, feature stories and editorials published in the Final Edition of the newspaper. Some stories from the other editions (the Howard County edition, the Carroll County edition, and the Anne Arundel County edition) are included, but only if they are unique or different in some way from the version of the story in the Final Edition. The Archive includes stories from September 10, 1990 to the present.

EBSCO MasterFILE Premier - Periodicals

MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than 1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural magazines.

EBSCO Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides full-text access to 35 national & international newspapers and selective full text for more than 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, you can also search for full text television & radio news transcripts.

Facts On File

World News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print.

Historic Newspaper Index

This newspaper index for the Civil War years, 1860 – 1865 is part of The Historic Newspaper Indexing Project which is a subject and personal name index to local and regional news, legal notices, obituaries, marriages, and advertisements published in Hagerstown, Maryland newspapers from 1790 - 1844 and 1860 - 1865. The regions covered in the index are Frederick, Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties in Maryland; Cumberland, Adams, Fulton and Franklin Counties in Pennsylvania; and Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan Counties in West Virginia.


Reference E-Books
Virtual Reference Library (eBooks)

Reference eBooks are the same books that rest on our shelves, but in an electronic format. You can access them here through our database page or through our catalog by clicking chain link when you see it in the catalog record.


Science
Facts.com - Today's Science

Today’s Science bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today. Updated weekly and containing thousands of links to a 15-year backfile, Today’s Science explains important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology.

Gale's Science Resource Center

Curriculum-oriented science resource for Earth Science, History of Science, Life Science, Physical Science, Science and Technology, Science as Inquiry, Space Science and more. Reference titles, periodicals, science glossary, web links.

Teen Home
New Additions
Homework
Teen Clubs
Databases
TAB (Teen Advisory Board)
What's Happening
Cool Stuff
Contact Us
Bookwagon History WCFL Home Page Get Connected with a Library Card! Your WCFL Account Get a Library Card Frequently Asked Questions WCFL Locations/Hours WCFL News & Information WCFL - Contact Us