Curbside pickup is now available at all WCFL branch libraries! Please see the slide below for details. Book drops throughout the county are open. All WCFL branch library buildings will remain closed to the public indefinitely. 

Phone Reference and Curbside Pickup Services at all WCFL branch libraries will not be available on Friday, July 3 and Saturday, July 4 in observance of Independence Day.

Search the: Catalog  OR Website    My Account logoFacebook icon

Research Databases & Resources

Alpha Sort:  | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | 


Displaying 1 - 36 of 36



Access World News

Find global information on business, education, the environment, health, jobs and careers, people, politics and government, social issues, sports, STEM and more including newspapers, videos and web-only content featuringCumberland Times-News, Herald-Mail, The Sun, USA Today, international sources and more.

Subject Headings:

Ancestry Library Edition

Remote Access available until July 31, 2020. See remote link below.

Genealogical and local history information. Includes the digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 to 1940, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, Passenger and Immigration Lists Index, and slave narratives.

* * During the COV19 outbreak, AncestryLibrary Edition is offering remote access until July 31, 2020 to Washington County Free Library patrons. 

Due to card use restrictions, Student RAIL cards users are not eligible for this service. * *

Subject Headings:

AtoZ Food America

AtoZ Food America contains recipes in all course categories (appetizers, soups, salads, breads, main courses, side dishes, desserts, snacks, and beverages) for six US regions, all 50 states, and 33 ethnic cuisines.

AtoZ Food America also covers food culture for the above regions, states, and ethnic cuisines with articles such as Classic Dishes, State Foods, Top Agricultural Products, Special Occasion Foods, Ethnic and Geographic Influences, Special Ingredients, and Food Trivia.

Subject Headings:

AtoZ World Food

AtoZ World food is the only food database that contains traditional recipes for international cuisine from 174 different countries! In addition to recipes and articles about unique ingredients, the database covers food culture in six different categories: National Cuisine, Regional Cuisine, Daily Meals, Dining Etiquette, Special Occasion Foods, and Food Trivia. Fully searchable by country, ingredient, or keyword, this database will answer all your international cuisine and culture questions. Happy cooking!

Subject Headings:



Books & Authors

Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. Through the use of expertly written and arranged content and a dynamic, cutting edge user interface, Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.

Subject Headings:



Chilton Library

ChiltonLibrary.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.

Subject Headings:

Cumberland Times News

Find information on community issues and events, business, education, government and more from 2007 to present.

Subject Headings:



Digital Maryland

This website provides centralized, one-stop access to Maryland-related historical documents, images, audio, and video for Maryland's public libraries and cultural heritage institutions.



Financial Literacy (for teens)

Financial Literacy is a content-driven, visually stimulating, and media-rich online economics and personal finance resource specifically designed for students in grades 7–12. Maintaining the gold standard set by Rosen Digital's inaugural product, Teen Health & Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers, Financial Literacy delivers curriculum-correlated content; promotes digital literacy and 21st-century learning skills; and offers research, report, and homework help.

Developed for teen learners with their unique learning styles and sensibilities in mind, Financial Literacy features a straightforward, easy-to-navigate interface. Teen-friendly articles make economics and personal finance both readily comprehensible and highly engaging. Dynamic videos and relevant photos enhance and extend learning. Financial tools and interactive calculators give teens hands-on practice in financial computation for real-world situations.


Free Health Research Online

There are many free websites online that provide quality health information right at your fingertips. This resource guide lists websites to help you research health info on general health, nutrition, finding a doctor, health insurance, local health-related organizations, professional articles and clinical trials, complementary and alternative medicine, consumer protection, diseases and conditions, and health info for seniors.

Subject Headings:



Gale Academic OneFile Select

This resource for academic research integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplines and now includes vocational/technical titles used by community college students, filling a specific need for curriculum-oriented collections. Expanded Academic ASAP provides indexing for more than 5,000 periodicals, more than 2,800 in full text without any embargo. The combination of full text for scholarly journals and selected general interest titles for smaller academic libraries is ideal.


Gale General OneFile

General OneFile provides access to more than 14,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books, and multimedia sources, along with over 163,000 images, 6,400 audio files, and 1.3 million videos. The database is particularly useful to users conducting general reference queries, business searches, and current event research.


Gale In Context: High School

Gale In Context: High School includes full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian. Provides hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.


Gale In Context: Middle School

Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Gale In Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.


Gale OneFile Virtual Collections

Gale OneFile Virtual Collections provides access to various magazines, academic journals and newspapers using a cross-reference search. 

Collections include:

Subject Headings:

Gale OneFile: Educators Reference Complete

Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.


Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Gale OneFile: High School Edition provides high school students with access to magazines, newspapers, books, and other reference content. The database offers audience-appropriate information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.


Gale OneFile: News

Gale OneFile: News provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.

Subject Headings:



Herald-Mail

Find information on community issues and events, business, education, government and more from 1996 to present.

Subject Headings:

Historic Newspaper Index

An Index to Hagerstown Newspapers: This site contains the Hagerstown newspaper indexes for 1845 – 1854 and 1860 – 1865. They are part of The Historic Newspaper Indexing Project which produces subject and personal name indexes for local and regional news, legal notices, obituaries, marriages, and advertisements published in Hagerstown, Maryland, newspapers from 1790 - 1854 and 1860 - 1865. The regions covered in the indexes are Frederick, Washington, Allegany and Garrett Counties in Maryland; Cumberland, Adams, Fulton and Franklin Counties in Pennsylvania; and Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan Counties in West Virginia.



Ira Lourie's Johnson Map Project

Alvin J. Johnson was a publisher of maps and atlases from 1854-1887, under the names A.J. Johnson, Johnson and Browning and Johnson and Ward. His Atlases and the maps of the various states in the United States have become collectible and are avidly sought by collectors and historians alike. Many state maps have been removed from Johnson's Family World Atlases and are collected in this form by collectors. The Johnson U.S. Map Project has created a data set of the changes in Johnson's U.S. and state maps which will allow the user of this website to definitively date the publication of any loose map from these atlases. We also present historical essays on the life of Johnson and his atlases and his relationship with other 19th Century American Atlas publishers, J.H. Colton and Augustus Mitchell.

The Johnson U.S. Map Project represents the work of Dr. Ira S. Lourie. He is a child psychiatrist who has been an avid map collector since 1978 and whose mapping related interests include both the maps of Maryland and the atlases of Alvin J. Johnson. He has presented his work on Johnson and his atlases to the Washington Map Society and has been published in the Map Society’s journal, the Portolan. Dr. Lourie is the sole owner of the Johnson U.S. Map Project database and website. In 2020 Dr. Lourie graciously donated his collection to the Washington County Free Library.

Subject Headings:



Kanopy

Provided under the Western Maryland Regional Library account

Access to more than 30,000 Films, for FREE! The popular on demand film streaming service Kanopy is now available for FREE at Washington County Free Library. Library card holders can access Kanopy and sign up to start streaming films on instantly. Films can be streamed from any computer, television, mobile device or platform by downloading the Kanopy app for iOS, Android, AppleTV or Chromecast.

Offering what the New York Times calls “a garden of cinematic delights,” Kanopy showcases more than 30,000 of the world’s best films, including award winning documentaries, rare and hard to find titles, film festival favorites, indie and classic films, and world cinema with collections from Umbrella Entertainment, Madman Entertainment, Under the Milky Way, SND Films and thousands of independent filmmakers. Kanopy is free for users with a library card.  10 play credits per month.  

* * Kanopy is provided under the Western Maryland Regional Library account so be sure to search for "Western Maryland Regional Library" if you are logging in from an application platform. * *

Subject Headings:

Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits covers popular topics on a child's reading level. Key subjects includes Animals, Arts, Geography, Health, Literature, People, Social Studies, Technology, and more.

Subject Headings:



LearningExpress Library, Job and Career Accelerator Center

LearningExpress Library features online tutorials, practice tests, and e-books to help patrons of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED® test prep, and more.


Legal Information Reference Center

Legal Information Reference Center is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.



Mango Languages

Mango Languages creates engaging language-learning experiences for individuals, libraries, schools, corporations, and government agencies across the continent and around the globe.

 Casual, cultural, and conversational learning

Speak like a local in 70+ languages with practical, conversation-based language lessons for web, iOS, and Android. Learn Spanish, French, German, and more — download the free Mango app to get started.

Subject Headings:

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations including journal articles, extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.

Subject Headings:



Oxford Reference Premium Collection

Oxford Reference Premium is a one-stop shop for reputable information from a well-trusted source. It covers 25 different subject areas, including art & architecture, history, language, law, philosophy, religion, science, and more. Over 260 titles are searchable in one place with new titles added all the time. A great first stop for any research needs. 

Remote access to the site for WCFL users: washcofree / Bgee6Bix



Peterson's Scholarships, Grants & Prizes

This book provides up-to-date information on millions of privately funded awards available to college students. It contains detailed profiles of awards based on ethnic heritage, talent, employment experience, military service, and other categories that are available from such private sources as foundations, corporations, and religious and civic organizations.

Subject Headings:

Peterson's® How to Get Money for College

This directory contains information on financial opportunities for college including federal grants, work-study programs, need-based and non-need-based gift aid, and athletic awards from more than 2,500 four-year colleges.

Subject Headings:



ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA has vital information on every business & consumer in the United States & Canada. It assists business executives in finding valuable sales leads, conducting market research or competitive analysis, and provides an avenue for businesses to do effective marketing & outreach. Students are able to reference this data for research projects and job seekers may find gainful employment. ReferenceUSA provides data on businesses, consumers, healthcare providers, new movers & homeowners, as well as historical business information.


Rural Heritage Museum

Subject Headings:



Teen Health & Wellness

Teen Health & Wellness provides middle and high school students with nonjudgmental, straightforward, curricular and self-help support, aligned to state, national, and provincial standards. Topics include diseases, drugs and alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide and bullying, green living, LGBTQ issues, and more.

Subject Headings:

Two-one-one (2-1-1) Maryland

2-1-1 Maryland is partnership of four agencies working together to provide simple access to health and human services information. 2-1-1 is an easy to remember telephone number that connects people with important community services. Call specialists answer calls 24 hours a day, every day of the year. The 2-1-1 database has information on nearly 5,000 agencies and programs across the state.



WCFL's Quick Reference Guide for Genealogy

The purpose of this guide is to serve as an introduction to the genealogy resources available through the Washington County Free Library system, including the John Clinton Frye Western Maryland Room.

Subject Headings:

Whilbr - Western Maryland's Historical Library

Allegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties in Western Maryland have a rich and diverse history. View images from the collections of the libraries, historical societies, and individuals in the three counties. There are photographs, newspaper articles, and indexes, rare books and more.

Subscribe to Research Databases & Resources